Chris Cornell RIP, and a memory

I am not really a music fan. I have no ear and no taste for music, and listen because that’s just the way it is. I do not seek out new music – no chance. There are some songs and some tunes I like, and I can listen to them pretty much on loop. I know what I like and what I don’t, and I like little.
General statement – I like Rock. For about 16 years of my life, rock had zero presence. And then, I landed up in Kolkata. There was this 1-hour show, some channel V something, between 4 to 5 PM I think, on DD Metro. That show was my introduction to Rock. Naturally, I was not taken to it at first – but some songs grew on me. ‘Black Hole Sun’ by Soundgarden was one of them. Perhaps the first of them? Either that or ‘Runaway Train’ by Soul Asylum. I do not follow the group, I do not know much about other music Soundgarden has done, have maybe listened to other albums but nothing really registered. But I still listen to Black Hole Sun. Often.
Chris Cornell died today. And I have been really sad since morning.

About Shom

Shom Biswas is a writer from India. @Spinstripe
This entry was posted in Unpublished, Write-Everyday writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

